With the smaller Alekšupīte River running through its old town centre, it is known as “The Latvian Venice”. Indeed the river flows alongside the walls of many of the town’s houses. Like Ventspils, Kuldīga’s streets are all made of various kinds of cobblestone.
Local authorities aim to make the old town of Kuldiga an important international tourism destination, to attract domestic and foreign tourists and contribute to the sustainable development of the town. The tourism resources of the town are based on its historical and cultural heritage and the Venta River which is one of the largest and most picturesque rivers of Latvia.
The historic and architectural heritage of Kuldiga is well preserved. In the park near the Kuldiga district museum fragments of the stone wall and the cellar of the first Kuldiga castle, built in 1242 by German knights, have been preserved. Later Duke Jacob’s castle (ruined in 1701) was situated there as well. Today it is a sculpture park. The old brick bridge across the Venta, built in 1874, is one of the longest of its type in Europe.
The Old Town Hall was built in the 17th century. The cellar of the building was the first prison in Kuldiga. The oldest wooden building in Courland was built in 1670 near the Town square on the banks of the River Alekšupīte.
The town square was an old assembly place for people. Traditional cultural heritage is part of everyday life in Kuldiga with textile workshops and celebrations of national festivals. There are also more contemporary events such as the annual running competition on the Alekšupīte (River of Aleksis) and the ‘naked people run’ over the historical bridge on the Venta River at Midsummer night.
- 1 Tourist Information Centre, Baznīcas iela 5 (town hall square), ☎+371 63322259, e-mail: email@example.com.